About the
WNY Law Center

Combining direct legal services, policy advocacy, local coalitions, and community involvement to effect real, unique change.

Mission

To ensure all members of our community receive the full range of civil legal services including “non-traditional” legal assistance like policy advocacy and legal education. 

Our Impact

As of 2019

14,900

Clients Represented

809

Households Saved from

HOMELESSNESS

40%

Reduction in vacant
properties in less than
2 years

Awarded and Settlements Avoided

$20 MILLION

$1.5

BILLION

Invested in the

community

$5

MILLION

Saved Fighting Improper

Collections

The First Bank and Financial Wellness
Center Opened on Buffalo's East Side

2012

Foreclosures
Prevented

Team

Meet the people who make our work possible.

Alexis Vullo

Staff Paralegal,
CLARO

716-828-8449
AVullo@WNYLC.net

Arianna Gabriel

Staff Attorney,
CLARO

716-828-8419
AGabriel@WNYLC.Net

Arthur Musarra

Staff Attorney,
Small Business Legal Clinic

716-828-8427
AMusarra@WNYLC.Net

Brittany Paul

Staff Paralegal,
Foreclosure

716-828-8455
BPaul@WNYLC.Net

Carrie Rutland

Bookkeeper,
Grant Manager


716-828-8442
CRutland@WNYLC.Net

Colleen Morth

Staff Paralegal,
Bankruptcy & CLARO

716-828-8451
CMorth@WNYLC.Net

Courtney Meredith

Daemen Paralegal Intern,
Small Business Legal Clinic


CMeredith@WNYLC.net

Courtney Meredith

Daemen Paralegal Intern,
Small Business Legal Clinic

716-828-84XX
CMeredith@WNYLC.net

Danielle Conie

Legal Assistant,
School Discipline Project

716-828-8452
DConie@WNYLC.net

Danielle Conie

Legal Assistant,
School Discipline Project

716-828-84XX
DConie@WNYLC.net

Elizabeth Cattarin

Staff Paralegal,
Buffalo Eastside Homeowners Assistance Fund (BEHAF)

716-828-8424
ECattarin@WNYLC.net

Gina Notaro

Paralegal Assistant,
Buffalo Eastside Homeowners Assistance Fund (BEHAF)

716-828-8421
GNotaro@Wnylc.Net

Heather Klein

Staff Attorney,
Foreclosure & Evictions

716-828-8446
HKlein@WNYLC.net

Ian Grogan

Staff Paralegal,
Foreclosure

716-828-8417
iGrogan@WNYLC.net

Jean Blizzard

Paralegal & Community Engagement Specialist,
Vacant & Abandoned Properties

716-828-8447
JBlizzard@WNYLC.net

Jordan Modrzynski

Managing Attorney,
Housing Unit

716-828-8438
JModrzynski@WNYLC.net

Joseph Kelemen

Staff Attorney,
Vacant & Abandoned Properties & Litigation

716-828-8411
jak@WNYLC.net

Kayla Schutt

JD/MSW Intern,
School Discipline, CLARO, SBLC


KSmall@WNYLC.net

Kedra Small

Staff Attorney,
Foreclosure & Evictions

716-828-8440
KSmall@WNYLC.net

Lauren Davis

Legal Assistant,
BEHAF, Evictions, Administration

716-828-8459
LDavis@WNYLC.net

Lauren Haas


Director of Operations

716-828-8434
LHaas@WNYLC.net

Luke Mazur

Staff Attorney,
Evictions

716-828-8450
LMazur@WNYLC.net

Lyndsay Michael

Staff Paralegal,
Small Business Legal Clinic

716-828-8457
LMichael@WNYLC.Net

Matthew Parham

Supervising Staff Attorney,
CLARO

716-828-8422
MParham@WNYLC.net

Neha Karambelkar

Supervising Attorney,
Small Business Legal Clinic

716-828-8445
NKarambelkar@WNYLC.Net

Nicholas Ramirez

Staff Attorney,
CLARO

716-828-8415
NRamirez@WNYLC.Net

Nicolas Felgemacher

Undergraduate UB Intern,
BEHAF & Evictions


NFelgemacher@WNYLC.Net

Patricia Cipriani

Staff Attorney,
Bankruptcy

716-828-8412
PCipriani@WNYLC.Net

Paul Pinto

Staff Paralegal,
Foreclosure

716-828-8413
ppinto@wnylc.net

Paulette Campbell

Interim Executive Director

716-828-8423
PCampbell@WNYLC.net

Ron Laport

3L UB Intern,
CLARO

716-828-8418
RLaport@WNYLC.Net

Ron Laport

3L UB Intern,
CLARO

716-828-84XX
RLaport@WNYLC.Net

Samantha White

Supervising Attorney,
School Discipline Project

716-828-8441
SWhite@WNYLC.net

Shabhia Aktar

Staff Attorney,
Evictions & Foreclosure

716-828-84XX
SAktar@wnylc.net

Yanis Martinez

Staff Paralegal,
Evictions

716-828-8426
ymartinez@wnylc.net

In Memoriam

Tom Karkau

Computer Programmer

Board

President

Melinda
Saran

Vice-President

Joseph
McCarthy

Secretary

Catherine Creighton

Treasurer

Karen
Welch

John
LaFalce

Honorary Member

John
LaFalce

Honorary
Member

Catherine
Creighton

Catherine
Creighton

Alexander
Wright

Alexander
Wright

Melinda
Saran

Melinda
Seran

Marshall
Bertram

Marshall
Bertram

Denetra
Roberts

Denetra
Roberts

Joseph
McCarthy

Joseph
McCarthy

Karen
Welch

Karen
Welch

Melissa
Woods

Melissa
Woods

What People Say About Us

Testimonials

Help the WNYLC Put a Stop to Injustice in Our Community

Contact Us!

Email Us!

We look forward to hearing from you!

Call Us!

716.855.0203

Office Hours:
9:00am - 5:00pm
Or By Appointment

Our Address

By Appointment Only

37 Franklin Street
2nd Floor, Suite 210
Buffalo, NY 14202

(Look for us behind Pearl Street)

This website is for informational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific legal advice. Nothing on this or associated pages should be taken as legal advice by any entity for any individual case or situation. Using this website or communicating with Western New York Law Center does not form an attorney-client relationship. There is no attorney-client relationship unless and until you sign an agreement confirming the nature and scope of representation.

Please do not act or refrain from acting based on information or materials on this site. The website should not be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed, professional attorney in your state. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.